ETIAS visa waiver for Italy: what travelers need to know

By Go! Go! Italia staff
18 Apr 2024
Reading Time: 3 minutes
Photo of ETIAS visa waiver for Italy

2025 will mark a turning point in the history of travel to Europe.

All people, including children, who can currently visit Italy without a visa will need to apply for something called the ETIAS visa waiver for Italy.

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) will start to be implemented by the end of 2025 and will become a mandatory process for entering the Schengen area.

ETIAS, however, can only be applied for by countries that are part of the visa waiver program of current or future Schengen Member States.

How the ETIAS visa waiver for Italy will work, which states in particular are part of Schengen and from which ones it will be necessary to apply for the ETIAS, are the questions that we will solve in this article.

What is ETIAS visa waiver for Italy?

ETIAS stands for the European Travel Information and Authorization System. It is an electronic system introduced by the European Union to strengthen security measures and streamline the process of entering the Schengen Area, which comprises 26 European countries, including Italy.

Other Schengen Area countries include Germany, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Spain, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, and Switzerland.

The ETIAS authorization is not a visa but rather a visa waiver. It is designed to pre-screen travelers from visa-exempt countries before they enter the Schengen Area. The system cross-checks applicants’ information against various security databases, including Interpol and Europol, to identify any potential security risks or irregularities.

Image of ETIAS visa waiver for Italy

Do you need an ETIAS visa waiver for Italy?

If you are a citizen of one of the visa-exempt countries and you plan to visit Italy for short stays of up to 90 days for tourism, business, or transit purposes, starting from 2025, you will need to obtain an ETIAS authorization before your trip.

Some of the visa-exempt countries are: United States, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, Japan, Hong Kong, South Korea, Malaysia, Argentina, Mexico, Brazil, Colombia, and Peru. If you want to know if your country currently is visa-exempt for Italy, visit the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation’s official website.

How to apply for ETIAS visa waiver?

The application process for ETIAS visa waiver for Italy is straightforward and primarily conducted online. Travelers will need to provide personal information such as their full name, date of birth, passport details, and travel itinerary. Additionally, applicants may be asked questions related to security and health matters.

Once the application is submitted, it is processed automatically through various security databases. In most cases, the authorization is granted within minutes. However, it’s advisable to apply for ETIAS at least a few days before your planned travel date to account for any potential delays.

Photo of Italy for ETIAS visa waiver for Italy article

Cost and validity

The ETIAS authorization comes with a nominal fee, which is payable online via credit or debit card. The exact fee may vary but is expected to be around €7 for adults. Minors under the age of 18 are exempt from the fee.

Once approved, the ETIAS authorization is valid for multiple entries into the Schengen Area for a period of three years or until the expiration of the passport used during the application process, whichever comes first. Each stay is limited to a maximum of 90 days within a 180-day period.

The introduction of the ETIAS visa waiver for Italy and, in general Europe, is a significant development in travel regulations for those planning to visit or study in Italy short term. While it adds a new step to the pre-travel process, the intention behind ETIAS is to enhance security and facilitate smoother border crossings for travelers.

If you’re dreaming of exploring the ancient ruins of Rome, savoring authentic Italian pasta in Florence, or cruising along the stunning coastline of the Cinque Terre, obtaining an ETIAS visa waiver for Italy is a small price to pay for the unforgettable experiences that await you in Italy. 

Are you interested in living and studying in Italy? Contact us, we provide assistance to help you navigate the process of relocating to Italy to study Italian.

Share this article

Go! Go! Italia

Search articles

Popular posts

Go! Go! Italia

Ready to live and Study in Italy?

Go! Go! Italia Blog

Related articles

Contact us

Any questions? We are here to help